Taking China-Singapore trade relations to a higher level

Mr. Wang Wentao, Secretary of the CPC Leadership Group of the Ministry of Commerce, PRC

Back to more articles


China and Singapore are friendly neighbours that enjoy a close and warm relationship, and this year marks the 30th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations between our two countries. In his congratulatory message to President Halimah Yacob on October 3, President Xi Jinping noted that over the past 30 years, cooperation between our two countries has gone beyond the bilateral scope, and plays an exemplary role on both the regional and international levels; China stands ready to work with Singapore on developing the relationship between the two countries further.

Over the past 30 years, economic and trade relations between two countries have developed both in breadth and depth; we embarked on many projects which yield remarkable results. Keeping up with the times, our all-round cooperative partnership has been scaling new heights continually.

Over the past 30 years, bilateral trade and investment has continued to grow. According to Chinese data, bilateral trade between China and Singapore has reached nearly US$ 90 billion in scale, with an average annual growth of 12.7%; cumulative two-way investment has exceeded US$160 billion, making up almost two-third of total cumulative investment between China and ASEAN. China has become Singapore’s biggest trade partner, and Singapore is also China’s largest source of foreign investment. Both countries signed a Free Trade Agreement in 2008, which was upgraded in 2018, further opening markets to each other.

Over the past 30 years, major cooperative projects have played a demonstrative leadership role. From the launch of the Suzhou Industrial Park in 1994, breaking ground on the Tianjin Eco-City in 2008, and then the launch of the Singapore-China (Chongqing) Connectivity Initiative in 2015, a series of government-to-government flagship projects have been established and come to fruition. The construction of the New International Land-Sea Trade Corridor, the Guangzhou Knowledge City and other state-level bilateral cooperation projects are also underway and bringing benefits to many. These major projects have effectively boosted all-round cooperation across different levels, as well as injected momentum into the high-quality cooperation between China and Singapore in building the Belt and Road.

Over the past 30 years, multilateral regional cooperation has continued to deepen. At the G20, World Trade Organization, the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation, East Asia cooperation and other multilateral and regional stages, China and Singapore have remained in close contact and coordination, and are firm in their support of economic globalisation and a multilateral trading system. Both countries are also united in their efforts to oppose unilateralism and protectionism, as well as actively promoting regional economic integration and an open world economy. We have also leveraged our comparative advantage to explore cooperation in third-party markets, so that our experiences in development can benefit more developing countries and their people.

This year, faced with the sudden Covid-19 pandemic, the governments of China and Singapore, together with their people, have extended assistance and support to each other. Both countries have also began in-depth cooperation in the efforts of medical and epidemic prevention supplies, taking the lead in setting up the first “fast lane” for essential travel between the two countries, and taking active steps to maintain the stability of supply chains. Cooperation in fighting the pandemic has become a new highlight in trade relations between China and Singapore, once again showing the forward-looking, strategic and demonstrative nature of the relationship between the two countries. At present, bilateral trade and investment continues to recover, bearing witness to the strength, resilience and vibrancy of the trade relations.

The world is undergoing profound changes that have not been seen in a century. China and Singapore, as important economies in the world, need to work closely together to advance global stability and prosperity. China is committed to a higher level of opening-up of, and speeding up the establishment of a dual-circulation economic development model, with a main internal circulation within its domestic market, and an external circulation comprising China’s trade links with the rest of the world. This will provide access to a bigger market and offer more development opportunities to countries all over the world including Singapore. The Ministry of Commerce of the People’s Republic of China is ready to work with Singapore to execute on the consensus reached by the leadership of both countries to take China-Singapore trade relations to a higher level.

First, stronger cooperation in fighting the pandemic. China wants to strengthen cooperation with Singapore in the supply of resources for epidemic control, research and development of vaccines and therapeutics, and other areas, to ensure vaccines become an accessible global public good that will benefit the world. China will take action to build a community of common health for mankind.

Second, deepen pragmatic cooperation. Under the Belt and Road Initiative, deepen the links between the development strategies of both countries, promote the healthy development of bilateral trade and investment, and safeguard the stable and long-term development of the major cooperation projects.

Third, strengthen multilateral regional coordination. China and Singapore will jointly uphold multilateralism and free trade and promote the early signing of the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership. Expedite the construction of the New International Land-Sea Trade Corridor; strengthen coordination in Lancang-Mekong Cooperation and other regional and sub-regional cooperation mechanisms.

Chinese philosopher Confucius said: “one becomes established at the age of 30”. After weathering 30 years of changes, as we stand together at a new juncture in history, we believe that with the combined efforts of China and Singapore, we can build on what we have achieved together to create a better and brighter tomorrow!

推动中新经贸关系迈向更高水平

中共商务部党组书记 王文涛

返回首页


中国和新加坡是一衣带水的友好邻邦,今年两国迎来建交30周年。10月3日,习近平主席在致哈莉玛总统的贺电中指出,过去30年,两国合作超越双边范畴,在地区和国际层面发挥示范效应;中方愿与新方共同努力,推动两国关系取得更大发展。

三十载春华秋实,中新经贸关系纵深发展,务实合作深入推进,取得一系列丰硕成果,亮点纷呈,推动与时倶进的全方位合作伙伴关系不断迈上新台阶。

30年来,双边贸易投资提质升级。按中方统计,中新双边贸易额已接近900亿美元,年均增长12.7%;双向投资累计超过1600亿美元,占中国与东盟双向投资总规模的近三分之二。中国跃居新加坡第一大贸易伙伴,新加坡已成为中国第一大外资来源国。双方于2008年签署自由贸易协定,并于2018年实现升级,进一步提升了两国市场双向开放水平。

30年来,重大合作项目示范引领。从1994年开启苏州工业园建设,到2008年天津生态城开工,再到2015年中新(重庆)互联互通项目启动,一批政府间旗舰项目先后落地生根、成效显著。国际陆海贸易新通道建设,以及广州知识城等国家级双边合作项目,也相继应运而生、发挥效益。这些重大项目有力推动了中新全方位、各层级合作,为高质量共建“一带一路” 注入了强大动能。

30年来,多边区域合作持续深化。在二十国集团、世贸组织、亚太经合组织、东亚合作等多边和区域场合,中新始终密切沟通协调,坚定支持经济全球化和多边贸易体制,共同反对单边主义、保护主义,积极推动区域经济一体化和开放型世界经济建设。双方还发挥比较优势,探索开展第三方合作,让发展经验惠及更多发展中国家和人民。

今年以来,面对突如其来的新冠肺炎疫情, 中新两国政府和社会各界互施援手、守望相助, 双方深入开展医疗物资和防疫物资合作,率先建立必要人员往来“快捷通道”,积极维护产业链供应链稳定畅通,抗疫合作成为中新经贸关系的新亮点,再次体现了两国关系的前瞻性、战略性、示范性。当前,双边贸易投资持续恢复,充分说明两国经贸关系具有强大韧性和旺盛活力。

世界正经历百年未有之大变局,中新两国作为重要经济体,需要紧密合作,共同推动世界稳定繁荣。中国致力于推动更高水平对外开放,加快形成以国内大循环为主体、国内国际双循环相互促进的新发展格局,这将为包括新加坡在内的世界各国提供更广阔市场和发展机会。中国商务部愿同新方一道,认真落实两国领导人重要共识,推动中新经贸关系迈向更高水平。

一是加强抗疫合作。中方愿与新方在防疫物资供给、疫苗药物研发等领域加强合作,努力让疫苗成为普惠、可及的全球公共产品,以实际行动推动构建人类卫生健康共同体。

二是深化务实合作。以共建“一带一路”为引领,深化两国发展战略对接,促进双边贸易投资健康发展,推动重大合作项目行稳致远。

三是加强多边区域协调。共同维护多边主义和自由贸易,推动区域全面战略伙伴关系协定尽早签署。加快建设国际陆海贸易新通道,加强与澜湄合作等区域、次区域合作机制对接。

孔子曰:“三十而立。”经历过三十年的风雨兼程,站在新的历史起点上,相信在中新双方的共同努力下,中新经贸关系必将承前启后、继往开来,迎来更加灿烂美好的明天!