Message

Lee Hsien Loong
Prime Minister Of Singapore
Patron of Business China

Back to more articles


This year marks the 30th anniversary of diplomatic relations between Singapore and China. But our friendship has deeper roots and can be traced to the exchange of visits between Mr Lee Kuan Yew and Mr Deng Xiaoping in the 1970s. Since then, Singapore-China relations have flourished across all dimensions, including frequent high-level exchanges and strengthening economic and people-to-people links.

The Joint Council for Bilateral Cooperation (JCBC) is our apex platform for bilateral cooperation. It is a unique arrangement that enables policymakers from both countries to communicate closely, and develop new opportunities to elevate bilateral ties. Last year, Singapore and China established the Singapore-Shanghai Comprehensive Cooperation Council (SSCCC) – our eighth provincial business council with Chinese provinces and municipalities, after that with Guangdong, Jiangsu, Liaoning, Shandong, Sichuan, Tianjin and Zhejiang.

Our economic relations have never been stronger. Singapore has been China's largest foreign investor since 2013, a remarkable feat given our size. China is also Singapore’s largest trading partner. The upgraded China-Singapore Free Trade Agreement entered into force last October. Our three Government-to-Government projects – the China-Singapore Suzhou Industrial Park, Sino-Singapore Tianjin Eco-city, and China-Singapore (Chongqing) Demonstration Initiative on Strategic Connectivity (CCI) – continue to make good progress. These three projects, which were established in each of the last three decades, reflect the evolving nature of our mutually beneficial cooperation. Numerous other initiatives, including the China-Singapore Guangzhou Knowledge City and the Singapore-China (Shenzhen) Smart City Initiative have blossomed from our strong foundation of cooperation.

Singapore also cooperates with China in the Belt and Road Initiative (BRI) through four platforms – infrastructure connectivity, financial connectivity, third party collaboration, and professional and legal services. This has promoted better connectivity not only between Singapore and China, but also between our respective geographic regions. In particular, the New International Land-Sea Trade Corridor (ILSTC) under the CCI connects Western China with Southeast Asia, through Singapore, and serves as a bridge between the Silk Road Economic Belt and the 21st Century Maritime Silk Road.

Our people-to-people links have expanded across all fronts: businesses, educational institutions, cultural organisations, non-governmental institutions, and associations. More than four million people travelled between our countries in 2018 – a 40-fold increase from 1990.

Having gained valuable experience working on the Suzhou Industrial Park with China, we were inspired to form an organisation to enable Singaporeans to strengthen relations with China through language, culture and business. Business China was born in 2007 as a result of this vision. Today, it is a key platform to promote people-to-people exchanges. It has nurtured many bilingual and bicultural Singaporeans who can help to build bridges between Singapore and China.

I am confident that Singapore and China will build on our strong foundation of cooperation to overcome the common challenges and seize new opportunities in the days ahead.

Lee Hsien Loong
Prime Minister of Singapore

献词

李显龙先生
新加坡总理
通商中国赞助人

返回首页


今年是新加坡和中国建交30周年,但早在上世纪70年代正式建交前,李光耀先生和邓小平先生就已通过互访,为两国友好关系奠定基础。此后,新中关系更通过频密的高层级交流,以及更多的经济合作和民间往来等不同层面稳固发展。

新中双边合作联合委员会是两国最高级别的合作平台。这个独特的机制,让两国官员保持密切沟通,共同为提升双边关系创造新机遇。去年,两国成立了新加坡—上海全面合作理事会。这是我国继广东、江苏、辽宁、山东、四川、天津和浙江之后,与中国成立的第八个省市级经贸理事会。

今天,新中两国的经济关系比过去任何时候都牢固。新加坡自2013年以来就是中国最大的海外投资国。这对一个蕞尔小国来说是一项了不起的成就。此外,中国也是新加坡最大的贸易伙伴。新中升级版自由贸易协定在去年10月已生效。我国与中国的三个政府间合作项目,即苏州工业园区、天津生态城和中新(重庆)战略性互联互通示范项目,皆持续取得良好进展。这三个项目是两国这三十年来,每隔十年所成立的政府间合作项目。这显示了双方互惠互利的合作关系一直都在深化和演变。广州知识城和新加坡—深圳智慧城市等其他许多合作项目,也在两国坚实的合作基础下开花结果。

新中两国也在“一带一路”框架下,就基础建设联通、金融联通、第三方市场合作,以及专业和法律服务这四个领域展开合作。这不仅加强了两国之间的互联互通,也促进了区域国家之间的往来与联系。例如,中新(重庆)战略性互联互通示范项目旗下的“国际陆海贸易新通道”,通过新加坡将中国西部与东南亚连接起来,成为了衔接“丝绸之路经济带”与“21世纪海上丝绸之路”的纽带。

另一方面,两国的民间交流往来也更为广泛。两国的企业、教育机构、文化组织、非政府机构,以及商会和社团之间都展开联系与互动。2018年,往返两国的旅客超过了400万人次,是1990年建交时的40倍。

新加坡与中国合作开发苏州工业园区获取了宝贵经验,这启发了我国欲成立一个组织,综合语文、文化和经济元素,同时汇集政界、商界和民间的力量,以加强新加坡和中国的联系。通商中国也就因此在2007年应运而生。如今,通商中国已成为促进两国人民交流的重要平台,并为我国培养了许多双语双文化人才。这些年来,他们也为加强新中关系搭建桥梁,做出贡献。

我深信,新加坡与中国会在坚实的合作基础上更上一层楼,携手克服我们所面对的共同挑战,并且在未来的日子里,一起掌握新机遇。

李显龙
新加坡总理