A new chapter for Singapore-Tianjin cooperation

Lian Maojun, Tianjin Municipal Party Committee Standing Committee member and Tinjian Binhai New Area Party Secretary

Back to more articles


The firm friendship between China and Singapore goes back a long way. As we mark the 30th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations between our two countries, I am honoured by the invitation of Mr Lee Yi Shyan, the Chairman of Business China, to contribute to the microsite commemorating the 30th Anniversary of the Establishment of Singapore-China Relations.

Over the past 30 years, there have been frequent high-level leadership exchanges between China and Singapore, as well as the rapid development of economic and trade cooperation. Both sides have also established an all-round cooperative partnership progressing with the times. General Secretary Xi Jinping has noted that China and Singapore are natural partners when it comes to developing the Belt and Road Initiative (BRI). Sino-Singapore cooperation can help to catalyse regional development, as well as the development of countries along the Belt and Road. To deepen the friendly exchanges between China and Singapore, Mr Lee Kuan Yew had the foresight to initiate the creation of Business China, a platform that uses the Chinese language as a link for building a cultural and economic bridge between China and Singapore. Today, China has become Singapore’s largest trading partner, and Singapore is China's largest foreign investor . Both countries have reaped the rewards of this fruitful relationship.

Over the years, Tianjin and the Binhai New Area have established close ties with Singapore, and our cooperation has yielded remarkable results in many areas, including trade, education, tourism, and urban development. The Sino-Singapore Tianjin Eco-City and the Singapore-Tianjin Economic and Trade Council have served as strong and effective vehicles and platforms for deepening our cooperation. The Sino-Singapore Tianjin Eco-city, a flagship cooperation project between the governments of China and Singapore, was established to respond to climate change. Drawing from Singapore's forward-looking "Smart Nation", "Garden City", and "Zero-Waste City” development concepts, we set about creating a smart eco-city, embarking on environmental water management in what was a barren and fragile ecosystem. After over a decade of hard work by both China and Singapore, the city’s residents are now able to enjoy a wonderful environment. Enterprises here are flourishing, and tourism is booming. A beautiful new city has taken shape by the bay — it integrates ecology, technology and the port industry, and is conducive for both living and working. The Binhai New Area has been learning from the Eco-city’s experience of international cooperation and is implementing a two-prong development strategy of "Upgraded Eco-city " and "Smart City Innovation". In order to spur a new era of quality development for the Binhai New Area, we have embarked on deep and comprehensive cooperation with Singapore's Ministry of National Development in the areas of water management, environmental governance, scientific research and education, green transportation, and smart city solutions. Since its establishment in 2007, the Singapore-Tianjin Economic and Trade Council has held nine meetings, and it is an important communication channel and cooperation platform for Singapore and Tianjin. Well-known Singapore enterprises such as Keppel, CapitaLand and Yanlord are developing swiftly in Tianjin, where it is opening up international markets and making outstanding contributions to Tianjin’s urban development. Using the Singapore-Tianjin Economic and Trade Council as their platform, Tianjin enterprises are also setting up branches in Singapore and exploring the Southeast Asian market.

This is a pivotal window and period of strategic opportunities for the transformative development of Tianjin and the Binhai New Area, which occupy a prime intersection of the BRI, and stand to benefit from the Beijing-Tianjin-Hebei Integrated Development plan, the China (Tianjin) Pilot Free Trade Zone, and policy support at the national level for the quality development of the Binhai New Area. There is great potential here. Singapore is an important fulcrum for the 21st Century Maritime Silk Road. It has a close and complementary working relationship with Tianjin enterprises. We are natural partners. It is my sincere hope that we can work more broadly and deeply with our Singapore friends from diverse sectors, to our mutual benefit. In doing so, we will write a new chapter for Sino-Singapore friendship.

狮城津门携手共进再谱新篇章

天津市委常委、滨海新区区委书记 连茂君

返回首页


中新友好源远流长 ,深厚情谊历久弥坚 ,值此建交 三十 周年之际 ,受通商中国主席李奕贤先生邀请 ,为《新中三十》献文添彩 ,我深感荣幸。

中新两国建交 30 年以来 ,高层领导往来频 繁 ,经贸合作发展迅速 ,双方 确 立了与时俱进的全方位合作伙伴关系 。习近平总书记指出 ,中新是共建 “ 一带 一路” 的天然伙伴 , 双方要立足中新合作 ,推动地区和沿线国家共同发展。为持续深化中新友好交流 ,李光耀先生高瞻远瞩 ,发起创办通商中国平台 ,以华文华语为纽带 ,搭建起一座联系 中国与新加坡文化和经 济的桥 梁。时至今日 ,中国成为新加坡最主要的贸易伙伴 ,新加坡也成为中国最主要投资来源国,两国互惠共赢,硕果累累。

多年来 ,天津市及滨海新区与新加坡联系紧密 ,在经贸、 教育 、旅游 、城市建设多个领域合作成 绩显著 ,特别是中新天津生态城项目和新津经贸理事会机制 ,为 持续深化双方务实合作提供了强有力的载体和平台。中新天津生态城是中新两国为应对气候变化而成立的重大政府间合作项目 ,通过借鉴新加坡 “智慧国”、 “ 花园城市”、 “无废城市” 等先进理念 , 我们在原本生态脆弱 、寸草不生的盐碱荒滩上开展环境水治理 ,打造智慧生态城市 ,经过中新双方十余年的努力 ,如今 ,这里的百姓安居乐业 ,企业蓬勃发展 ,游客纷至沓来, 一座生态、智慧 、港产城融合的宜居宜业美丽滨海新城已拔地而起。同时 ,滨海新区积极吸纳生态城国际合作的先进经验 ,实施 “ 生态城市升级版” 和 “智慧城市创 新版” 双轮驱动发展战略 ,在水源管理 、环境治理 、科研教育 、绿色交通、 智慧城市等领域与新加坡国家发展部开展全面深度合作 ,有力助推新时代滨海新区高质量发展 。新津经贸理 事会自 2007 年成 立以来 ,已召开九八届会议 ,是目前新加坡 、 天津市之间 要的沟通渠道与合作平台 ,吉宝集团 、 凯德集团 、仁恒集团等 一批新加坡著名企业在天津发展迅速 ,既开拓了国际市场 ,也为天津城市建设作出突出贡献 ,天津企业也以新津经贸理事会为平台 ,在新加坡设立分支机构 ,大力拓展东南亚市场 。

目前,天津市及滨海新区正处于转型发展的重要窗口期和战略机遇期 ,既享有 “ 一带 一路” 海陆黄金交汇点的区位优势 ,又兼具京津冀协同发展 、自贸试验区建设等先发优势, 更拥有国家支持新时代滨海新区高质量发展的政策优势,高质量发展潜力巨大 。新加坡作为 “21 世纪海上丝绸之路”重大战略支点 ,与天津产业互补,联系紧密 ,是天然合作伙伴 。 衷心希望与新加坡各界朋友 ,携手共进 ,在更广阔的领域和更高的层次上互利共赢 ,为中新友好再谱新篇章。