Part 5

Business China

scroll down

Part 5

Business China

Introduction

Yap Pheng Hui

Singapore’s relationship with China does not start or end with diplomacy and trade; people-to-people exchanges also form crucial links in the chain. In fact, they are the foundation of the bilateral relationship. While personal, leisure and work travel, as well as education are all important, grassroots organisations and community associations also play an active part in deepening mutual understanding and friendship, building more sustained connections.

Business China is just one such example. Unlike other business and cultural organisations or clan associations, Business China’s objective is to strengthen the ties between Singapore and China.

As Singapore and China celebrate our 30th anniversary of Diplomatic Relations, both countries must continue to provide opportunities for our youths to build stronger friendship and deepen the understanding of each other’s culture and perspectives. COVID-19 has disrupted some of our plans for this year, but we will resume our programmes such as the Youth Interns Exchange Scheme and learning journeys when conditions allow. Our youths will shape the future of our bilateral relations. When we develop our youths, we are investing in our future.
Chee Hong Tat

Senior Minister of State,
Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Ministry of Transport

Through the nation’s journey in bilingualism and insights gleaned from the Suzhou Industrial Park venture, Singapore’s founding Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew came to believe that Singaporeans should be bilingual and bicultural to be ready for China’s growing influence in the region and to leverage the opportunities it brings. Business China was thus founded in November 2007, to promote a greater understanding of China among Singaporeans and nurture young Singaporeans in building their capacity for developing deeper links with China. This initiative was indeed a move of great foresight on the part of the Founding Prime Minister, who understood the role such a dedicated a non-government organisation that operates independently of any government,

Three years after it was established, Business China launched the widely lauded Business China Awards, which aims to honour outstanding individuals or enterprises for their contributions to Singapore-China relations. To date, award recipients have hailed from the fields of politics, business, culture, news, philanthropy, and medicine, and are widely recognised as role models in their fields.

Another of Business China’s objectives is to nurture an inclusive bilingual and bicultural group of Singaporeans so as to sustain our multi-cultural heritage. And young Singaporeans are crucial in fulfilling this purpose. One of the three categories in the Business China Awards is the Young Achiever Award, which was created specifically for the up and coming new force in maintaining close relations between the two countries. As Tin Pei Ling, CEO of Business China, noted, nurturing “Singapore-China-savvy” youths is a key priority.

Tin Pei Ling has also observed that young Singaporeans appear to have a polarised knowledge of China: while some mistakenly assume that the achievements and glamour of China’s top tier cities are representative of the entire country, others are still stuck with the old impression of how China was before its digital economy took off. Hence Business China has focused on providing immersive learning opportunities for Singaporean youths over the years, in the hope that Singaporean youths will experience local customs, social and business cultures for themselves through living in China.

Playing a vital role in this is the Singapore-China Youth Interns Exchange Scheme (YES), spearheaded by the Ministry of Education and administered by Business China. Under the scheme, Singapore and China will send as many as 500 youths each year on internship exchanges for up to six months, thus providing these youths a valuable opportunity to forge a deeper understanding between the two countries. The internship scheme not only builds up a talent pipeline for companies of both countries, it is also a platform to enable the cultivation of lasting people-to-people ties.

As a formal arrangement between Singapore and China, YES would go a long way in further promoting bilateral relations in the years to come. In addition to YES, Tin Pei Ling shared that Business China is assembling a panel of entrepreneurs, opinion leaders, and well-known scholars from both Singapore and China for dialogues, seminars and other activities with youths to offer them the opportunity for engagement with business personalities and experts.

A New Generation of China Experts

Interview with Tin Pei Ling, CEO of Business China

Business China Awards

第五部分

通商中国

向下滑动

第五部分

通商中国

前言

叶鹏飞

新中两国交往,除了官方的正式层面和经贸的实质层面,民间的情感层面也是关键的一环。两国非官方的交流,构成了双边关系的基础;个人的旅行、出差、观光、留学、派驻等做法固然重要,民间团体和机构更是增进理解与友谊的“助推器”,能够发挥更持续的作用。

通商中国正是为了这一目标而量身定制的团体。有别于商业组织、文化机构、宗乡团体,通商中国成立的使命,就在于有意识地巩固新中关系的基础。

在欢庆新中建交30周年之际,我们必需为年轻一代继续打造交流与互动的机会、建立更牢固的友谊,以加深两国人民对彼此的文化和观点的理解。今年的一些计划虽被新冠疫情影响,但一旦情况允许,我们将恢复原定的新中青年实习交流计划(YES)和学习之旅。年轻人是国家未来的栋梁,用心栽培下一代,就是对未来双边关系最好的投资。
徐芳达

新加坡外交部兼交通部
高级政务部长

新加坡建国总理李光耀先生在检视新加坡双语之路的历程以及与中方合作开发苏州工业园的过程中意识到,新加坡人应该懂双语,了解双文化,才能洞悉中国对区域日益增长的影响,并能迎接随之而来的机遇。通商中国因此于2007年11月应运而生,希望由此加强新加坡人对中国的了解,培养年轻一辈认知中国的技能。倡议设立通商中国的新加坡建国总理李光耀,确实高瞻远瞩,明白这类专职民间机构所能发挥的巨大作用。

在创立后三年,通商中国便设立了广受各界认同的“通商中国奖”。这个奖项褒扬为双边关系做出卓越贡献的团体和个人,至今在政治、商业、文化、新闻、公益、医疗等不同领域,树立了许多楷模。

通商中国的另一个重要使命,就是为新加坡造就一批双语双文化的中流砥柱,保留多元文化传统。达成这一使命的关键,就在于青年群体。通商中国奖三大奖项之一的青年奖,正是着眼于创造两国关系未来的生力军。诚如通商中国总裁陈佩玲所言,培养“新中通”是重点任务。

陈佩玲敏锐地意识到,新加坡青年对中国的认识容易趋于两极化,一些误以为中国一线城市的辉煌成就代表了全中国,另一些则还停留在中国数码经济起飞之前的旧印象。因此,通商中国多年来致力为新加坡青年创造到中国浸濡学习的机会,希望新加坡青年能通过在中国的生活,切身体验中国的风土民情、人情世故和商业文化。

其中,由新加坡教育部领头,通商中国担任执行单位的“新中青年实习交流计划”(YES)极具重要性。通过YES计划,两国每年可派遣多达500名青年到对方国家实习长达半年,为两国青年创造了深入了解对方的宝贵机会。通过这样的交流机制,YES不但具备了为彼此储存人才库的潜力,更能增进两国的民间情感。

比起偶然的机会,这种制度性的交流机制,配合通商中国所搭建的人脉网络,就更能够事半功倍。除了YES,陈佩玲表示,通商中国正努力汇聚新中企业家、意见领袖和知名学者,通过论坛和对话会等活动,为青年和企业提供与业界要角交流的机会。

新一代 “中国通”的特质

访通商中国总裁陈佩玲

通商中国奖