Part 3

Partnership in the Region and Beyond

scroll down

Part 3

Partnership in the Region and Beyond

By Yap Pheng Hui

The Belt and Road Initiative (BRI), a symbol of China’s ascent in the 21st century, is also at the forefront of growing cooperation between Singapore and China. China’s investment in the countries along the Belt and Road has not only provided tremendous business opportunities for both countries, it has also brought out the complementary and synergistic effects produced by the two countries working together in a third market.

Projects and ventures of Chinese enterprises in the countries along the Belt and Road require support and follow up, especially in financial and legal matters. In some large-scale ventures, Chinese investors may also have to partner local companies or other international corporations, all of which involve navigating complex international finance and legal requirements. Singapore, as a key international financial centre and a leading global dispute resolution hub, is well positioned to provide the necessary assistance.

According to the ranking of the world’s most competitive financial hubs released by the Global Financial Centres Index (GFCI) on 26 March 2020, Singapore placed fifth, behind New York, London, Tokyo and Shanghai. The index takes into account business environment, financial sector development, infrastructure factors, human capital, reputation, and general factors.

Singapore also plays an important role as a regional legal hub. The International Arbitration Survey conducted by the School of International Arbitration at Queen Mary University of London, released on 9 May 2018 shows that the Singapore International Arbitration Centre has emerged as the most preferred arbitral institution in Asia, and is ranked third of the top five arbitral institutions in the world – with London and Paris ranked first and second respectively.

These internationally renowned resources are accessible to any Chinese investors or their joint venture partners in the countries along the Belt and Road. The new partnership also reflects a trend in the partnership between Singapore and China over the course of the three decades since Diplomatic Relations were officially established. As the countries work more closely together, the areas of cooperation have gradually shifted from the early days when Singapore provided capital and management know-how to China, to the establishment of government-to-government ventures and the Joint Council for Bilateral Cooperation, and eventually to the current partnerships in third-party markets. The relative advantage that Singapore has in the international financial and legal sectors seamlessly meets the demand from Chinese enterprises going global.

Conscious of the general trend of the bilateral relationship between Singapore and China, Business China, as a non-governmental organisation for facilitating and advancing links between the two countries, has kept abreast of new developments and is doing its part by organising a broad range of events and programmes to enhance BRI-related knowledge among its members.

Business China first began exploring the development of the BRI at the FutureChina Global Forum in 2013, and organised dedicated seminars and business matchmaking sessions as part of the event in 2017 and 2018. Also of note was a half-day seminar focusing on the development of the 21st Century Maritime Silk Road jointly hosted by Business China and the Singapore Ministry of Trade and Industry in 2018. The half-day seminar played a part in boosting the flow of people, capital, and information, and establishing an international logistics chain inland, giving full play to the spirit of the BRI. At this year’s forum, the focus was on the development of financing for infrastructure and “new infrastructure”, and opportunities for enterprises. Against the backdrop of the BRI, FutureChina Global Forum looks set to become an important international think tank. Such events and programmes will also continue to be a key part of Business China’s future activities.

第三部分

放眼区域:
新中携手共进

向下滑动

第三部分

放眼区域:
新中携手共进

前言

叶鹏飞

“一带一路”是中国在21世纪崛起的象征,也是新中未来深化双边合作的前沿。中国在带路沿线国家的投资,不但为新中的企业带来庞大的商机,更凸显了两国在第三方市场合作所能发挥的叠加效应和互补作用。

中资企业在带路国家的投资,必然需要各种后勤支援,其中又以金融和法律最为关键。在一些大型的投资项目,中资企业或许必须同驻在国的企业,或其他国际伙伴合作。这些都涉及复杂的国际融资和法律义务。作为重要的国际金融中心和国际仲裁中心,新加坡正好能够提供必要的协助。

根据全球金融中心指数(GFCI)在2020年3月26日所公布的排名,新加坡位列世界第五,前四名依次是纽约、伦敦、东京和上海。指数由商业环境、金融业发展、基础设施、人力资本、声誉与一般性因素这五大指标构成。

在法律方面,根据伦敦玛丽女王大学国际仲裁学院2018年5月9日发布的《国际仲裁调查》,新加坡是亚洲人首选进行仲裁的国家,在全球则排名第三,仅次于英国伦敦和法国巴黎。新加坡国际仲裁中心(SIAC)是全球排名第三的仲裁机构。

这些享誉国际的金融和法律资源,都能够为投资带路国家的中资或合资企业所用。这也反映了新中交往30年,两国合作关系持续深化的趋势,从早期的新加坡单方面向中国提供资金和管理技能,到两国设立政府间合作项目和经贸理事会,到现阶段的携手开发第三方市场。新加坡在国际金融和法律的比较优势,恰好同中国走向国际市场的需求配合无间。

意识到新中关系发展的大势,通商中国作为促进两国关系的民间机构,也积极尽自己的一分力,通过举办各类相关活动,为会员提供了解“一带一路”的相关知识。

通商中国2013年 的“慧眼中国环球论坛”论坛便开始探索“一带一路”的发展方向,更于2017年和2018年举办了“一带一路”专属的分论坛以及商业对接。值得一提的是, 2018年通商中国和新加坡贸工部举行半天论坛,特别讨论有关陆海新通道的发展,激活人流、物流、资金流、信息流,构建内陆国际物流,体现出一带一路的精神。今年,该论坛将聚焦基建以及“新基建”的融资发展方向及企业合作空间。在“一带一路”的大背景下,“慧眼中国环球论坛”有望发展成为重要的国际智库。 这些活动和项目,相信也会继续成为通商中国未来活动的重点之一。