Part 2

Singapore’s Business Ventures in China

scroll down

Part 2

Singapore's Business Ventures in China

Introduction

By Yap Pheng Hui

Singapore has played an important role in the course of China’s reform and opening up. International trade and foreign investment have been the twin growth drivers in the country’s economic development, and investment by Singapore companies has been growing rapidly since the 1990s. In fact, Singapore became China’s biggest source of foreign direct investment from 2013 to 2017.

This year marks a key milestone for Singapore and China as both countries commemorate the 30th anniversary of Diplomatic Relations. Over the years, I have led delegations of business leaders, including those within Business China’s network, on various visits to China. I have witnessed first-hand China’s rapid growth in the areas of ecological protection, domestic consumption, digitalisation, technological innovation and connectivity developments. I have also witnessed how both countries have been working closely together in various government-to-government projects in Suzhou, Tianjin, Chongqing and other key projects such as those in Guangzhou, Nanjing, Shenzhen that have helped further strengthen our bilateral economic cooperation.
These efforts have paid off. Today, Singapore is China’s largest foreign investor while China is Singapore’s largest trading partner for the 7th consecutive year. Bilateral trade also increased by 1.7% year-on-year to reach SGD 137 billion in 2019.
Building on these successes, I am confident that both Singapore and China will further deepen our close relationship in the years ahead.
Dr Koh Poh Koon

Senior Minister of State,
Ministry of Health

The immense potential of China’s market is a big draw for Singaporean investors, who have brought not just capital and management know-how, but also a wealth of international networks that has been a key factor in China’s economic ascent.

Singapore companies that have ventured into China include government-linked entities and listed companies with solid backing, as well as the more nimble small and medium-sized companies predominantly run by Singaporean Chinese entrepreneurs. These companies capitalise on their respective advantages to make headways in different fields ranging from real estate, tech, shipping, to food and beverage and others – partaking in China’s economic take-off and at the same time bringing the two countries closer together.

As exciting and varied as their experiences in China are, it is not difficult to spot the overarching theme. The massive and complex China market holds the most attractive opportunities, and also numerous unique challenges. Whether they are business owners or executives based in China, Singaporeans who have ventured to China all stress that embracing the local cultures and environments, humility, and the willingness to learn are essential factors in achieving success in China

China’s rapid economic growth continues to bring new opportunities and challenges to Singapore enterprises. Since the Belt and Road Initiative was proposed, cooperation between the enterprises of both countries has risen to another level. Beyond China’s sizeable market, Singapore companies now have the opportunity to partner Chinese counterparts in third-market ventures.

Building on the longstanding bilateral ties between Singapore and China, characterised by mutual respect and the willingness to learn from each other, cooperation between the enterprises of both countries will continue to progress from strength to strength.

An early explorer of China from Singapore

Interview with Teo Siong Seng, Executive Chairman of Pacific International Lines Pte Ltd (PIL)

How COVID-19 accelerated CapitaLand’s digitalisation drive

Interview with Lucas Loh, President and CEO of China, CapitaLand Group

Keppel Group in China: Still soaring after 30 years

Interview with Ben Lee, President of Keppel Land China

CDL cultivating and deepening its presence in China

Interview with Sherman Kwek, CDL’s Group Chief Executive Officer

China lessons guide ADERA’s expansion into South-east Asia

Interview with Dr. Marvin Tan, Co-Founder and Group Executive Director of ADERA Global

A case study of three Singapore companies in China

第二部分

新加坡企业在中国

向下滑动

第二部分

新加坡企业在中国

前言

叶鹏飞

新加坡在中国改革开放的发展进程里,扮演了重要的角色。在中国经济增长的引擎当中,国际贸易和外来投资都发挥了重大作用。新加坡公司对中国的投资,在1990年代后突飞猛进,更在2013年至2017年,持续成为中国最大外资来源地。

新加坡公司看中中国市场的巨大潜能,不但带去了资金和现代管理知识,更把多年累积的国际人脉,一并转化为中国经济升级的核心要素。

今年是新中两国建交30周年 ,是一个重要里程碑。 多年来,我带领商业领袖,包括通商中国优质网络内的企业代表,到中国进行多次访问。我亲眼目睹了中国在生态、消费、数字化,技术和互联互通的迅速发展。 我也见证了两国在苏州、天津和重庆政府间合作项目以及在广州、南京和深圳等的重要项目中的紧密合作。这些项目有助于进一步加强我们的双边经济合作。
这些努力现已开花结果。 如今,新加坡已连续第七年成为中国最大的新增外资来源国,而中国则是新加坡最大的贸易伙伴。 双边贸易额也同比增长1.7%,在2019年达到1,370亿新元。
在这些成功的基础上,我有信心新中两国的关系将历久弥坚,更上一层。
许宝琨医生

新加坡卫生部
高级政务部长

这些公司既有实力雄厚的政联公司和上市企业,也有以华商为主、身段灵活的中小型企业。它们凭着各自的优势,在从房地产、科技公司、航运到食品等不同行业和领域,参与了中国经济的腾飞,也促进了两国的关系。

从它们投资中国丰富多彩的故事,也不难发掘共同的主题。庞大且复杂的中国市场不但隐藏诱人的机遇,也呈现了程度不一的挑战。无论是企业主或者常驻中国的公司高管,都不约而同地强调,在地深耕、谦卑学习的心态,是成功投资中国的关键。

中国经济的快速发展不断为新加坡企业带来新的机遇和挑战。自从提出“一带一路”战略后,两国企业的合作又更上层楼。在中国的巨大市场之外,新加坡企业如今还增加了跟中国伙伴一起在第三方大展拳脚的机会。

相信本着互相尊重,彼此学习的精神,两国企业会一如两国整体关系的发展一样,在未来的岁月中共同开创新天地。

中四毕业“跑船”到中国

访太平船务执行董事长张松声

疫情深化数字化平台发展的契机

访凯德集团总裁兼中国区首席执行官罗臻毓

吉宝集团翱翔中国30年

访吉宝置业中国总裁李绍强

城市发展深耕中国

访城市发展集团
首席执行官郭益智

中国经验成为进军东南亚的明灯

访精工集团执行董事兼联合创始人陈展文博士

三家闯荡中国市场的新加坡企业