Building Singapore as a Global-Asia Node of Technology, Innovation and Enterprise

Interview with DPM Heng Swee Keat, Deputy Prime Minister, Coordinating Minister for Economic Policies and Minister for Finance

Back to more articles


By Han Yong Hong, Ren Qi

Business China can assist local enterprises in gaining a deeper understanding of the development strategies across different regions in China and build Singapore as a Global-Asia Node of Technology, Innovation and Enterprise.

In an interview with Lianhe Zaobao, Deputy Prime Minister, Coordinating Minister for Economic Policies and Minister for Finance Heng Swee Keat said that Business China can help Singapore businesses gain a deeper understanding of China’s political, economic, and social development, as well as provide them with better insights for investment and trade. Business China serves as “a very good platform” in that regard.

China has rolled out several regional development strategies in recent years, including the development of the Western region, Beijing-Tianjin-Hebei Region in the north, the Yangtze River Delta along the eastern coast, and the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area in the south. Mr Heng pointed out that these regional development plans were of strategic significance to China and if well-coordinated, will develop their own unique advantages.

Mr Heng urged Singapore companies to learn more about the regional development plans of China and hoped that Business China can do its part to help them.

He also commended Business China for its contributions to the business sector. Mr Heng hopes that through its continued efforts, Business China will play an important role in promoting business opportunities.

On Business China’s Advanced Leaders Programme, Mr Heng observed that it serves not only to deepen Singapore’s understanding of China, but also helps provide Chinese enterprises and government officials a better understanding of Singapore’s development.

The FutureChina Global Forum, one of Business China’s flagship events, also provides an invaluable platform for entrepreneurs and businessmen to understand China, ASEAN, and other international issues from a different perspective, and to leverage Business China’s extensive network to explore opportunities in the region and globally.

Singapore and China celebrated the 30th anniversary of diplomatic relations on 3 October 2020. As a key member of Singapore’s 4G leadership, Mr Heng reflected on the development of bilateral relations and shared his views for further cooperation.

He said the past 30 years have shown that bilateral cooperation progressed with the needs of both countries as well as international trends. Looking ahead to the future of bilateral ties, Mr Heng believes strengthening cooperation in the prevention and control of pandemics would also be an important priority.

Mr Heng said, “The immediate task is to get the pandemic under control, if we can do this, the economy and various activities can gradually resume – this is the most critical task right now.”

Since the COVID-19 pandemic broke out early this year, the two Co-chairs of the Joint Council for Bilateral Cooperation (JCBC) – the highest-level bilateral cooperation mechanism between both countries – Mr Heng and Chinese Vice Premier Han Zheng have spoken over the phone twice. Both sides agreed to include public health collaboration as a new agenda item under the JCBC this year, including the development of diagnostics, vaccines and treatments for COVID-19.

Apart from being a severe public health challenge, the pandemic has also had an immense impact on the global trading system.

Mr Heng pointed out that the COVID-19 pandemic has accelerated structural changes and developments that had already been underway, such as the retreat from globalisation in some countries. Given the importance of global trade to the development of Singapore and China as well as the rest of the world, it is crucial for both countries to work with the rest of the world to safeguard a rules-based, free global trading system.

Both countries should continue to build upon the existing free trade agreements between Singapore and China, as well as ASEAN and China. The Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) signed on 15 November 2020 will also boost the region’s economic recovery.

Mr Heng also looked forward to further bilateral cooperation in different areas such as finance, Renminbi internationalisation , digital technology, dealing with the challenges of an ageing population, climate change, and other issues.

In terms of financial cooperation, Mr Heng, who once led the Monetary Authority of Singapore, warned that the key lesson of both the Asian Financial Crisis and the Global Financial Crisis was how essential finance is for economic stability and development.

Many Asian countries have large pools of savings, he said, and how best to use these savings on projects for sustainable development is an area that could be further explored.

For instance, regarding the development of basic infrastructure, China has proposed the Belt and Road Initiative at a time when Asia’s annual infrastructure funding needs are estimated to be US$1.7 trillion (S$2.3 trillion). However, risks can quickly escalate if projects are not well-structured or if a sound financing system is lacking.

Mr Heng hopes that Singapore and China can work with multilateral financial institutions such as the World Bank, the Asian Development Bank, and the China-led Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank, to train Asian government officials and bring them together with bankers as well as investors to design better platforms to facilitate financing for infrastructure development in the region. He believes that this is an area with potential for collaboration.

In addition to financial cooperation and giving full play to the potential of Singapore as an offshore Renminbi clearing centre, Mr Heng is also keeping a close watch on the global trend of digitalisation, which is not limited to the financial industry but has important repercussions for the manufacturing, services, and other sectors.

Mr Heng pointed out that an ageing population is a common challenge that many countries, including those in Western Europe and East Asia, such as Germany, Singapore, China, Japan face . In order to maintain economic growth as the population ages, all countries will need to make better use of digital technology and artificial intelligence.

Climate change is another important area of cooperation. Mr Heng highlighted the two countries’ second government-to-government project, Tianjin Eco-city, as an example of China’s focus on ecological conservation.

He stressed that climate change is a common challenge facing humankind and expressed his hope that Singapore, China and other countries can work closely together on climate change issues.

As a member of ASEAN, Singapore has knowledge and understanding of regional issues and has also maintained good relations with ASEAN members, having worked with them on many projects.

Mr Heng hopes Singapore can leverage this unique advantage to help enterprises internationalise. He said Singapore’s future depends on its position as a Global-Asia Node of Technology, Innovation and Enterprise.

This is because the next stage of global economic development will be driven by innovation and technology, and if Singapore wants to do well and achieve breakthroughs in these areas, a firm grasp of the differing needs in various markets is necessary.

Mr Heng hopes that Business China can support Singapore’s strategies.

There are many complementary aspects in the development of Singapore, China, and the region. Looking ahead, Singapore and China should continue to actively seek out more projects for cooperation.

Mr Heng also pointed out that the close partnership between the two countries is built on frequent and regular high-level exchanges between the two governments. As he recounted, “In 2019, President Halimah visited China. Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong and various ministers also exchange visits and meet with the Chinese leaders regularly to discuss key issues, enhancing mutual understanding. This is the main reason that leaders of both countries have been able to build mutual trust and understanding.”

Such high-level exchanges allow Singapore and China to better understand each other and consider the needs of both parties when working together, building a stronger foundation for the partnership.

推动新加坡成为科技创新与企业发展的枢纽

访新加坡副总理兼经济政策统筹部长及财政部长王瑞杰

返回首页


文 / 韩咏红、任其

通商中国可帮助本地企业加深对中国各个区域发展策略的了解,并可推动新加坡成为亚洲与国际上注重科技创新与企业发展的重要枢纽。

副总理兼经济政策统筹部长及财政部长王瑞杰受访时强调,通商中国能帮助新加坡企业加深对中国政治、经济、社会趋势的了解,让企业在投资、贸易方面能掌握更好的知识,并称赞通商中国是一个“很好的平台”。

近年来,中国先后推动多个区域发展策略,包括西部大开发、北方的京津冀、东部沿海的长三角、及南方的粤港澳大湾区等。王瑞杰指出,这些区域发展对中国具战略意义,若能更好地协调,将发展出各自特色。

因此,王瑞杰呼吁新加坡企业应加深对中国区域发展的了解,并希望通商中国能为此出一份力。

王瑞杰也表扬通商中国对企业的贡献。他希望通商中国能继续努力,继续扮演推动新中合作的角色。

他提到,通商中国高级领袖研修班,不仅能加深新加坡对中国的了解,同时也能加深中国企业及官员对我国发展方向的了解。

慧眼中国环球论坛,通商中国的另一旗舰项目,也提供了一个平台,让相关商界人士可以通过它从不同角度了解有关中国、亚细安以及世界的议题,并利用通商中国广泛的网络探索区域与国际商业机会。

新加坡与中国刚在10月3日庆祝建交30周年纪念日。作为我国第四代领导班子主要成员的王瑞杰在回顾新中关系发展的同时,也畅谈了对两国未来的多项合作愿景。

他指出,过去30年的经验显示,新中合作应符合两国需求与国际形势,放眼未来几十年,一个重要需求是加强疫情防控合作。

他说:“现在主要的任务是抑制疫情,如果我们能够抑制疫情,经济与民间活动就可以逐渐开始,这是现在最关键的。”

冠病疫情在年初暴发后,作为新中两国最高层级合作机制——新中双边合作联合委员会 (Joint Council for Bilateral Cooperation,JCBC) 新方主席的王瑞杰与中国副总理、JCBC中方主席韩正通了两次电话,两国同意在公共卫生、冠病疫苗和诊断方面加强合作。JCBC也首次将公共卫生合作纳入议程。

疫情除了是重大公共卫生挑战,也对全球经贸体系带来深远的影响。

王瑞杰指出,冠病疫情加速了一些原有的结构性趋势和发展,例如反国际贸易的浪潮在全球越演越烈,而国际贸易对中国、新加坡,乃至各国发展都很重要,因此新中与各国合力维护有规则的自由贸易体系,是十分关键的课题。

他建议,各方继续探讨如何加深新中,以及亚细安—中国现有的自由贸易协定。今年11月15日签订的区域全面经济伙伴关系协定(RCEP)将为亚洲的经济活力发挥有力的带动作用。

王瑞杰也期盼新中能在金融、人民币国际化、数字科技、人口老化,及气候变化等议题上有更多合作。

在金融合作方面,曾担任新加坡金融管理局局长的王瑞杰提醒,亚洲金融危机和全球金融危机留下的教训是金融对经济的稳定与发展“至关重要”。

他指出,亚洲许多国家的储蓄量庞大,而如何将这些储蓄利用在具持续性发展的项目,值得加深研究。

以基础设施建设为例,中国提出了“一带一路”的重要概念,亚洲每年对基建融资需求也高达1.7万亿美元(2.3万亿新元),然而若项目不适当或金融体系不牢固,就可能带来很大风险。

因此,王瑞杰希望新中两国以及国际多边银行如世界银行、亚洲开发银行和中国所领导的亚洲基础设施投资银行(AIIB)合作,共同培训亚洲的官员,并且由官员、银行家和投资者一同设计更好的平台以流转资金。他相信,这项合作具有很大空间。

除了金融以及新加坡作为人民币离岸中心的合作潜能,王瑞杰也一直留意全球在数码化方面的发展趋势,强调这并非只限于金融方面,对制造业、服务业等行业都相当重要。

他指出,从西欧到东亚,新加坡与德国、中国、日本等国都面对人口老龄化的问题。要在人口老龄化的现实下保持经济增长,各国就必须更好利用数码科技和人工智能。

此外,气候变化也是另一个新中之间的重要合作项目。王瑞杰以新中第二个政府间合作项目天津生态城为例,指这彰显了中国对生态环境保护的重视。

王瑞杰强调,气候变化是全人类所面对的共同挑战,因此希望新加坡、中国、及世界各国都能紧密合作。

作为亚细安成员国之一,新加坡不仅对区域情况有着相当不错的了解,而且一直以来也与亚细安邻国有着很好的关系,有许多合作项目。

因此,王瑞杰也希望新加坡能在这方面发挥作用,推动企业更加国际化。他指出,新加坡未来应该要成为在科技、创新与商业三方面的一个国际和亚洲的“重要枢纽”。

这是因为全球接下来的经济发展都要靠创新与科技,而在这方面如果要做得好,有所突破,就需要了解不同市场的需求。

王瑞杰特别提到,希望通商中国能在这方面“加大努力”,支持新加坡的这个战略性政策。

在他看来,新加坡、中国及本区域的发展有许多相辅相成的方面,未来新中要继续积极寻求适当的合作项目。而两国的多项合作也建立于经常性的高层交流。

王瑞杰说:“2019年,哈莉玛总统访问中国。李显龙总理和各个部长也经常和中方领导人见面互访,讨论要事,加深对彼此的了解,这是两国领导人能建立起互信和相互理解的重要原因。”

正因如此,新中双方才能更好了解彼此的需求,在拟定合作方面,也考虑到双方的需求,在更坚固的基础上发展合作项目。