Foreword

Lee Yi Shyan
Chairman of Business China
Former Senior Minister of State, Ministry of National Development & Ministry of Trade and Industry

Back to more articles


This year marks 30 years of diplomatic relations between Singapore and China, as well as Business China’s 13th anniversary. To commemorate the 30th anniversary of diplomatic relations between Singapore and China, we have produced a microsite , to showcase the past, present and future of bilateral relations.

Due to historical and geopolitical reasons, the official establishment of diplomatic relations between Singapore and China only took place in 1990. But the roots of a cordial relationship between the two countries can be traced back to November 1978, when Mr Deng Xiaoping first visited Singapore, and founding Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew’s following visit to Beijing in 1980. It was from then that Mr Deng and Mr Lee – two giants of their time – set a solid foundation for what was to become a fruitful partnership.

Since diplomatic relations were established in 1990, the connection developed rapidly. In 1994, construction began on the Singapore Suzhou Industrial Park, which was to become a model for industrialisation in China. In 2007, the foundation for the Sino-Singapore Tianjin Eco-City was laid, and a joint exploration on balancing economic development with ecological protection commenced. In 2015, the Chongqing Connectivity Initiative was launched with the aim of boosting economic development in China’s western region and fostering greater connectivity between the region and the world, through modern services and smart industry.

In addition to government-to-government projects, Singapore enterprises also work closely with many different provinces in China. A few notable joint developments include the Guangzhou Knowledge City, the Nanjing Eco Hi-Tech Island, and the Chengdu Innovation Park. Since the early 1990s, hundreds of thousands of Singapore companies have made their way to China, a sign of their confidence in China’s development and potential. From 2013, China has been Singapore’s largest trade partner for six consecutive years, and Singapore has also become China’s largest source of foreign investment. Part II of our commemorative microsite takes a closer look at this mutual investment.

China’s rapid economic growth has propelled the country to overtake Japan in becoming the world’s second largest economy in 2010. By 2015, China’s outbound investment overtook inbound foreign investment for the first time. These milestones show the deep-seated changes taking place in the scale and structure of the Chinese economy. China has the capacity and the need to export capital and technology, in order to continue expanding her economy and improving the economic structure.

At this historical moment in time, Singapore and China can complement each other and jointly explore mutually beneficial opportunities in third-country markets. In 2010, Singapore and China reached a consensus on “Going Global” together, and in 2013, China proposed the Belt and Road Initiative – all of which are important platforms for bilateral and multilateral collaboration. I believe that Singapore’s global reputation and capacity in financial services and international arbitration will provide ample support for the joint ventures of companies from both countries in third-party markets under the aegis of the Belt and Road Initiative. The third section of our microsite shares more on this.

One of the pioneers of diplomatic ties between Singapore and China – Singapore’s founding Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew, was dedicated and untiring in his efforts to boost bilateral relations. In 2007, Mr Lee initiated the launch of Business China, and actively pushed for bilingualism and biculturalism in business. To this end, Business China has three strategic objectives: to nurture Singapore-China-savvy talents, build a quality and premium Singapore-China network of talent, and promote deep and wide-ranging exchanges between Singapore and China. Mr Lee Kuan Yew’s foresight, and the importance Business China patron, Singapore’s Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong placed on the organisation, has sealed our commitment and encouraged us to continue building stronger links with China.

Despite only having presence for 13 years, Business China has made considerable contribution in supporting and strengthening bilateral relations. In conjunction with China President Xi Jinping's official state visit to Singapore in 2015 Business China and Lianhe Zaobao jointly published a commemorative book marking 25 years of official diplomatic relations between Singapore and China. In 2018, Business China was co-organiser of the Singapore Lecture with ISEAS-Yusof Ishak Institute, where China’s Premier Li Keqiang was invited to deliver the keynote speech, “Pursuing Open and Integrated Development for Shared Prosperity”. This year, we decided to try something new, launching the commemorative microsite to celebrate the 30th anniversary of diplomatic relations.

Business China has also been actively providing opportunities for in-depth exchange between the youth of Singapore and China, facilitating education exchange, internship, entrepreneurship, and job opportunities, in order to nurture deeper mutual understanding between the young talents of both countries. Last year, Business China was appointed administrator of the Singapore-China Youth Interns Exchange Scheme (YES), to build a one-stop service platform for the youth of both nations and businesses and facilitate the matchmaking of talent and enterprises.

In February this year when Wuhan was hard hit by COVID-19, Business China responded to the call of the Singapore government to raise funds in aid of China’s fight against the pandemic, showing our support and care for the people of Wuhan during this difficult time. In early June, Business China also mobilised members and other volunteers to raise funds for Singapore’s own fight against the COVID-19 pandemic, donating resources to medical staff and the underprivileged. The microsite also features this touching act of kindness.

2020 has been a challenging year for many. As we look ahead, there are much uncertainties. It is uncertain when the pandemic can be contained, where Sino-US relations are headed, and how the global economy performs. These have significant impacts on the future. Given the volatility and uncertainty, there exists a greater necessity for countries around the world to collaborate and maintain a multilateral global economic system; and a more pressing need for ASEAN, China and other key economies to foster regional economic development and integration. I am confident that Singapore and China will be a force for good in these circumstances, and to continue to broaden bilateral cooperation and build stronger links. We look forward to taking bilateral relations to new heights in the next 30 years.

Lee Yi Shyan
Chairman
Business China

前言

李奕贤
通商中国主席
前贸工部兼国家发展部高级政务部长

返回首页


今年是新加坡和中国建交30周年,也是通商中国成立13周年。作为纪念,我们制作了《新中三十》这一网络特辑,回顾并展望双边关系。

基于历史原因,新加坡和中华人民共和国正式建交于1990年。 但是关心新中友好历史的朋友都知道, 新中关系的友好发展,可追溯到1978年11月邓小平先生首访新加坡, 随后,李光耀总理于1980年访问北京。邓小平和李光耀这两位伟人由此奠定了往后新中友好合作的坚固基础。

从1990年两国正式建交以后,新中关系得以迅速和蓬勃的发展。 1994年, 新中苏州工业园启动, 为中国工业化模式提供一个参考。 2007年,新中天津生态城奠基,寻求如何推动经济发展的同时兼顾到经济与人和环境的平衡。 2015年,中新(重庆)战略性互联互通示范项目启动,希望通过现代服务和知识型产业,推动中国西部城市的经济开发和它们与国际的联系。

除了政府间的合作项目,新加坡的企业和中国的许多省市都有直接的合作项目。鲜明的例子就包括了广州知识城、南京生态岛、成都科技园等。 从90年代初,千万个新加坡企业到中国各地纷纷落户,表现了他们对中国的发展和未来充满信心。从2013年开始,中国连续六年成为新加坡第一大贸易合作伙伴,新加坡也成为中国最大的外资来源国。网络特辑的第二部分正是介绍这方面的内容。

中国持续的高速经济成长让她在2010年超越日本,成为世界第二大经济体。2015年,中国的输出外资第一次超越引进外资。 这些里程碑说明中国经济规模和结构已经产生了根本性的变化。中国有能力和有必要输出资金和技术,进一步扩大她的经济规模和完善经济结构。

在这新的历史时刻,新中两国可以相辅相成,联手在第三方市场寻找共赢的机遇。2010年,新加坡与中国就“一起走出去”的合作模式达成共识,中国在2013年提出“一带一路”倡议,这些都是两国和多国合作的重要平台。我深信,新加坡在金融服务、商业仲裁等领域的国际声誉和能力,将能够在“一带一路”推进过程中为两国企业的第三方市场开拓提供相应的支持。《新中三十》网络特辑的第三部分,正是介绍这方面的内容。

新中友谊的重要奠基者、新加坡建国总理李光耀先生,毕生对持续促进双边关系殚精竭虑。2007年,李先生倡议成立通商中国,积极推行双语双文化的商业运用。通商中国为此致力于实现培养“新中通”人才、搭建优质的新中人脉网络、促进深广交流的三大战略性目标。李光耀先生的远见,以及通商中国赞助人李显龙总理对通商中国的重视,敦促我们坚定决心,为提升新中关系不断努力。

虽然通商中国仅有短短13年的历史, 但是在支持和参与新中友好合作的工作,却是不遗余力。2015年为配合中国国家主席习近平国事访问新加坡,以及庆祝新中建交25周年,通商中国与《联合早报》合作出版了《新中建交25周年回顾与展望》纪念册;2018年与新加坡尤索夫伊萨东南亚研究院合办的“新加坡讲座”邀请到中国总理李克强,发表了题为《在开放融通中共创共享繁荣》的演讲。今年,我们做了新尝试,通过线上平台推出《新中三十》网络特辑来纪念两国建交30周年。

通商中国一直以来也积极扮演民间大使的角色,为新中青年提供各种深度交流的机会,包括到彼此的国家深造、实习、创业、工作,从而培育一批对新加坡和中国都深度了解的“新中通”人才。去年,通商中国被委任为新加坡-中国青年实习交流计划 (YES)的执行机构,为两国青年人才和企业搭建一站式的服务网站,促进人才与企业之间的配对。

今年2月份,中国武汉市遭新冠病毒肆虐,通商中国大力响应新加坡政府号召,筹款资助中国抗疫,表达我们对武汉人民在这艰难时期的关怀与支持。6月初,通商中国也动员了会员和善心人士,为新加坡的抗疫工作筹款,将所筹得的款项和物资,捐赠给医疗人员和弱势群体。网络特辑也记录了那感动人心的仁心善举。

2020年是一个艰苦的年头。放眼未来,我们所处的世界,都有许多变数。新冠疫情什么时候能控制住、中美关系的发展和世界经济的表现都对我们的未来有着重大的影响。正因为局势动荡不安,世界各国必须携手合作,维护多边合作和全球化经济体系,亚细安和中国等主要经济体, 更有必要加大加深区域经济的发展和一体化。 我有信心,新加坡和中国能在这其中发挥积极的作用,在未来的岁月里,提升双边和多边的合作和友谊。 让我们期待新中友谊再创佳话,迎接下一个辉煌的30年。

李奕贤
通商中国主席