Opportunities abound for the next 30 years

Interview with Chan Chun Sing, Minister for Trade and Industry

Back to more articles


By Han Yong Hong

“We should be encouraged by our achievements in the past 30 years. We have confidence that bilateral ties between Singapore and China will deepen, with more areas and opportunities to further bilateral cooperation in the next 30 years.”

Mr Chan Chun Sing, Minister for Trade and Industry, is optimistic of the outlook of the bilateral relationship between Singapore and China. As the Minister overseeing Singapore’s international trade, and who used to lead the Singapore-China (Chongqing) Connectivity Initiative, Mr Chan has been personally involved in advancing cooperation between Singapore and China.

Mr Chan said, “In the past, our relationship was based on ‘trade with Singapore’. It then evolved into ‘trade through Singapore’ with other countries. Today, it is ‘trade on Singapore’ – whereby countries trade on platforms created by Singapore. This is a different business model, and its potential is growing.”

Mr Chan was the first Singapore Minister to head the third Government-to-Government project, the China-Singapore (Chongqing) Demonstration Initiative on Strategic Connectivity (CCI). He was directly involved from the outset, when the theme of “modern connectivity and modern services” was conceptualised, to establish Singapore and Chongqing as the twin hubs connecting Western China with Central and Southeast Asia.

The positioning of this bilateral project came about during Mr Chan’s visit to Xi’an, Chengdu, and Chongqing. The Chinese government had suggested to base the third Government-to-Government project in Western China, to boost the region’s economic development. While out exploring Chongqing on his own, Mr Chan realised that the key to furthering Western China’s economic development lays in addressing the costs of connectivity.

Mr Chan subsequently proposed improving connectivity in trade and logistics in Western China. The idea gradually gained support from the Chinese authorities, and officials from both countries went on to fine-tune the concept. Both sides eventually agreed on common working terms such as logistical connectivity, aviation and digital finance; and worked together continuously to refine and implement the CCI’s overall concept.

Since its launch in 2015, participation in the CCI has grown amongst the provinces in Western China. According to Mr Chan, Singapore’s partnership with China has now expanded beyond being point-to-point, person-to-person, and city-to-city – it now also includes building joint platforms on which cooperation takes place.

Throughout this whole process, Mr Chan has had numerous opportunities to work directly with Chinese officials and encapsulate within the CCI a unique quality of the relations between the two countries: Singapore’s awareness and ability to keep pace with China’s pace of development and corresponding developmental needs.

He stressed, “We are not going into China with any preconceived notions, saying, ‘This is what I want to do, this is what you need.’ What we do is understand what China really needs. This is the basis of our partnership. With this attitude, there will be many projects we can work on with China.”

Since the establishment of bilateral ties, this principle has been upheld, and is embodied in all the three Government-to-Government projects to date.

In the 1990s when China was focusing on industrialisation and looking to further open up and attract foreign investment, the first bilateral project, the China-Singapore Suzhou Industrial Park, was materialised. In the 2000s when China was dealing with severe environmental protection issues, the Sino-Singapore Tianjin Eco-City was launched. As China entered into a phase of regional development and sought to balance development between West and East China in recent years, Singapore proposed a solution to lower the cost of logistics and financing in the western region– and the CCI was thus conceived.

Such close cooperation is rarely seen in other bilateral relationships.

Mr Chan goes on to explain that Singapore does not see China’s development as static but seeks to gain a deeper understanding of and cooperate with China on its changing phases of development across different regions of the country. He said, “I think this will remain unchanged in the next 30 years”

The high level of mutual trust and similar pragmatic work cultures are also noteworthy qualities in bilateral ties between Singapore and China. Mr Chan added, “In the next 30 years, China will play an even more important role on the international stage, and interact and connect more closely with other countries; Singapore can work with China and create synergies on the international stage as well as through cooperation with third party countries.”

As to specific areas of cooperation, Mr Chan pointed out that the next three decades will see China entering a new phase in both social and economic developments, facing new challenges such as an ageing population, greater demand for social welfare, and balancing social diversity. He pointed out that Singapore and China both faced similar challenges and can learn from each other.

Against the backdrop of the current global economic environment, both countries are seeking new business opportunities around the world. They also share common interests such as the development of emerging industries, healthcare technology, high precision technology and digital technology, which provides the ground for more potential areas of partnership.

Upholding the multilateral trading system together

Since his appointment as the Minister for Trade and Industry in 2018, Mr Chan has been directly responsible for Singapore’s free trade agreements. During this time, negotiations on the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) Agreement among China, Japan, South Korea, New Zealand, Australia, India and the ten-member ASEAN, which began in 2012, also started picking up pace.

After 8 years of negotiation, the agreement was officially signed on 15 November 2020 at the sidelines of the 37th ASEAN Summit and Related Meetings. The RCEP is the world's largest Free Trade Agreement to date and it is also a demonstration of partner countries' commitment to manage the adverse economic impact arising from the COVID-19 pandemic.

Working together on the ASEAN platform or other international platforms is an important new direction in bilateral ties.

As Mr Chan pointed out, in the face of rising trade protectionism, both Singapore and China hope to defend global connectivity and maintain a peaceful global environment. “That is why whether it is working with a third country or the rest of the world, there are many opportunities for us as partners to defend the multilateral trading system.”

In the next 30 years of Singapore-China relations, what role can organisations like Business China play?

Mr Chan said, “The role of Business China has always been to build closer links between the entrepreneurs of Singapore and China. Looking ahead, I hope to see Business China nurturing a new generation of successors, connecting young Singaporeans with professionals, experts, scholars and the academia in China, and enhancing mutual understanding, so that we can work together better to explore the opportunities ahead.”

新中的下一个30年充满机遇

访新加坡贸工部长陈振声

返回首页


文 / 韩咏红

“回顾过去30年新中合作的成就,我们应该非常鼓舞,展望接下来的30年,我们应该更有信心,双边关系会加深,也会在更多领域一起发展,充满机遇。”

谈到新中关系的未来,新加坡贸工部长陈振声充满信心。作为主掌新加坡对外经贸联系、又是曾经负责过新中重庆互联互通合作项目的部长,陈振声亲身经历了新中合作不断开拓新空间。

陈振声说:“过去中国是与新加坡贸易 (trade with Singapore),后来是通过新加坡跟其他地方贸易 (trade through Singapore),现在是大家在新加坡打造的平台上贸易 (trade on Singapore)。这是不同的商业模式,空间其实越来越大。”

他是新中第三个政府间合作项目、中新(重庆)战略性互联互通示范项目的首任新方牵头部长,从重庆项目在孕育阶段就直接参与,构想出“金融通、物流通”的合作概念,力争将新加坡与重庆打造为衔接中国西部与中亚、东南亚的双枢纽。

说起来,这个双边合作项目的定位,还是陈振声到西安、成都、重庆考察期间产生的灵感。中国政府当时建议新加坡在中国西部开展两国第三个政府间合作项目,推动中国西部的经济发展。但究竟要开展什么项目呢?面对这个“考题”,陈振声从一次独自在重庆市区观察时的偶然发现,领悟到症结在于流通成本!

他随后提出打通西部物流与经济血脉的概念,向中方提出后,逐渐被中方官员接受,新中工作团队随后再将概念细致化,双方最终形成了共同的工作语言如物流通、航空、运输、数据金融等,并在工作中不断完善与落实构想。

自从2015年启动以来,新中重庆项目的“朋友圈”不断扩展,加入的西部省市也越来越多。陈振声形容,新加坡跟中国的合作,已不再是点对点、人对人、城市对城市,还包括共同搭建平台、在平台上合作。

过程中,陈振声有许多机会与中方官员直接合作,重庆项目构想的形成,凸显了新中关系的一大特点——新加坡是以中国的发展节奏、配合中国的发展需要,来规划合作项目。

他强调:“我们不是带着先入为主概念地到中国去说:这是我想做到的,这是你需要的。我们是真的去了解中国真正需要的是什么,这是我们合作的基础。如果抱着这个态度,我们和中国就有许多项目可以合作。”

自从建交以来,这个理念一直在承传,新中至今共计的三个政府间合作项目,都是这种精神的载体。

1990年代,当中国大力推进工业化,并寻求进一步对外开放和招商引资时,两国第一个政府间合作项目——中新苏州工业园区诞生了。2000年代,中国面对环境保护的突出问题,中新天津生态城在2008年破土。随着近年中国进入区域化发展、并着力平衡东西部发展的新阶段,新方在中国西部实地考察后,提出从降低物流与融资成本“破题”,开启重庆互联互通项目。

这样的密切合作,在其他的双边关系中并不常见。

陈振声进一步解释,新加坡不把中国的发展看成静态的,而是寻求深入了解与配合中国在不同发展阶段、以及中国不同区域的发展阶段。他说:“接下来的30年,我想这是会不变的。”

两国高度互信与务实工作文化,也是新中关系的突出特点。陈振声接着说:“在接下来30年里,中国在世界舞台上将扮演更重要的角色,跟其他国家的沟通和衔接也会更紧密,在这方面新加坡也可以和中国一起在国际舞台协作、和第三国家协作。”

谈到具体的合作领域,陈振声指出,接下来30年里,中国不论是经济或者社会都会进入新阶段,面对诸如人口老龄化、社会福利的供给,以及多元社会的问题处理等新挑战。他指出,新加坡和中国都面对同样的挑战,可以互相借鉴彼此经验。

此外,在新的全球经济形势下,两国都在寻找全球新商机,对于发展新兴行业、医药科技研发、精密科技或数码科技领域,也都有着相同的目标,广大合作空间。

新中合力维护国际贸易体系

2018年从总理公署部长转任贸工部长后,陈振声开始直接负责我国对外贸易协定。在这期间,亚细安十国与中国、日本、韩国、新西兰、澳大利亚、印度自2012年启动谈判的区域全面经济伙伴关系协定 (Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership,简称RCEP)也明显提速。

经过8年谈判,该协定已于2020年11月15日在东亚合作领导人系列会议期间正式签署。形成全球最大自由贸易区协定的同时,也彰显本区域齐心缓解冠病疫情对经济冲击的承诺。

在亚细安或其他平台上进行国际合作,是新中关系的另一个重要面向。

对此,陈振声指出,在全球贸易保护主义抬头的眼前,新加坡和中国都希望维护世界的和平与世界的衔接。“所以在这方面,我们不管是与第三国家或者全球,都有非常多机会一起合作,来维护多边体系。”

在新中关系继续发展的未来30年,像通商中国这样的组织,可以扮演怎么样的角色?

陈振声说:“一向以来,通商中国的角色就是怎么样拉近新加坡和中国商人的网络和关系,接下来,我更希望看到的是通商中国也培育一代新班子,帮助年轻一代的新加坡与中国商界人士或学术界人士,更好地了解对方,更好地来一起探讨我们眼前的机遇。”