A look back on exchanges between the leaders of Singapore and China

Founding leaders: Breaking the ice and building trust

Back to more articles


In late 1974, Singapore’s Minister for Foreign Affairs S. Rajaratnam was in New York for the United Nations General Assembly when he met China’s Foreign Minister Qiao Guanhua. As they chatted, Foreign Minister Qiao suddenly asked Mr Rajaratnam, why not send a delegation to China? As the Culture Revolution was ongoing in China, Mr Rajaratnam replied that he would think about it.

This was not mere diplomatic politeness. In March the following year, Mr Rajaratnam personally led a delegation of five to Beijing and met with Premier Zhou Enlai. Mr Rajaratnam made clear Singapore’s stance of wanting to build friendly relations with China. Mr Rajaratnam shared that due to geopolitical circumstances and the prevailing ideology in the region, it would not be immediately possible for the two countries to establish diplomatic ties in order to avoid any misunderstanding. Foreign Minister Qiao Guanhua expressed his understanding, and previously frosty relations between the two countries began to thaw.

A year later, in May 1976, Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew visited China for the first time. In addition to his wife and daughter, he was accompanied by senior cabinet ministers including Foreign Minister S. Rajaratnam, Finance Minister Hon Sui Sen, Senior Minister of State Ahmad Mattar, and S.R Nathan – who would later become President of Singapore.

PM Lee also met with Mao Zedong, who despite his poor health and inability to walk at the time, made the effort to greet the delegation in person as a gesture of amicability and respect. Mr Lee’s maiden visit to China included stops in Beijing, Dazhai in Shanxi, Xi’an, Shanghai, Wuxi, Guilin, and Guangzhou, and kicked off a close relationship of frequent exchange of visits between the leaders of both countries over the next three decades. Mr Lee himself visited China a total of 33 times over 35 years, which made up 10% of the total number of foreign trips he took.

In November 1978, China emerged from the Mao era and entered the era of Deng. Then Vice-Premier Deng Xiaoping led a delegation to Singapore for a three-day visit, where the top leadership of both countries met for the first time. Singapore’s rapid development after gaining independence in 1965, its social order and model for economic growth left a deep impression on Deng and provided a reference for the Reform and Opening Up of China he spearheaded. The visit also became the foundation of the vibrant partnership in economic development between the two countries.

In the 1980s, Singapore and China both set up trade representative offices in each other’s countries and established direct flight links. In 1985, former Deputy Prime Minister Goh Keng Swee was appointed by the Chinese government as the Economic Advisor to the State Council of the People’s Republic of China on coastal development, and later Advisor on tourism. The appointments played a crucial part in the formal establishment of Diplomatic Relations in 1990.

In 1992, Deng Xiaoping embarked on his historic Southern Tour. While in Shenzhen, he mentioned once again that “Singapore’s social order is rather good”, reiterating the need to learn from Singapore’s model of governance. Not long after this, bilateral relations between the two countries arrived at another important milestone. After three visits to China, Lee Kuan Yew handpicked the location for the first government-to-government project, and signed an agreement to jointly develop the Suzhou Industrial Park with China’s Vice-Premier Li Lanqing in Beijing on February 1994.

Second Generation Leadership: Reinforcing and Building Upon the Foundation

After Goh Chok Tong became Singapore’s second Prime Minister in November 1990, he realised that the responsibility of maintaining friendly bilateral relations laid on his shoulders, and he continually sought new areas of cooperation in order to deepen links between the two countries. In Mr Goh’s 14 years at the helm, the biggest highlights of bilateral relations was the establishment of the Joint Council for Bilateral Cooperation in 2003, and the China-Singapore Free Trade Agreement (CSFTA), which was signed in 2008 – both of which PM Goh spearheaded.

The Free Trade Agreement, which had been driven by the Joint Council for Bilateral Cooperation, was also the first comprehensive free trade agreement China had signed with an Asian country. The second government-level joint venture, Tianjin Eco-City, was also launched under the watch of Mr Goh, by then Senior Minister. For Mr Goh, it was the reaction of Premier Wen Jiabao to his proposal of the Tianjin Eco-City project that left the deepest impression during his visit to China in April 2007.

“He immediately agreed, which surprised me… The next morning, Vice-Premier Wu Yi told me that Premier Wen has already put her in charge of the plan.”

Third Generation Leaders: Deepening Links and Reaching New Heights

In October 2005, current Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong made his maiden state visit to China, meeting with President Hu Jintao, Premier Wen Jiabao, National People’s Congress Chairman Wu Bangguo, and Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference Chairman Jia Qinglin – four of the highest ranked members of the Chinese Communist Party Central Committee, an honour not commonly accorded to visiting foreign leaders.

Five years later at the invitation of PM Lee Hsien Loong, Xi Jinping arrived in Singapore for his first official visit as the Vice President of China. During the three-day visit, Mr Xi attended the ground-breaking ceremony of the China Cultural Centre with then Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong, demonstrating the importance of bilateral cultural exchanges in the eyes of both countries’ leaders.

As economic cooperation continued to grow, the Monetary Authority of Singapore office in Beijing officially opened in 2013. The same year, official data showed that Singapore had become the biggest source of foreign direct investment in China, with total investment valued at US$66.5 billion.

In June 2015, Singapore President Tony Tan embarked on a six-day state visit at the invitation of China’s President Xi Jinping. At a meeting, the Presidents of both countries agreed to launch a substantive upgrade of the bilateral Free Trade Agreement which came into force in 2009. President Xi expressed the same concern and support for the third government-to-government project in China’s western region, and his hope that it would become a key demonstration project for China’s Belt and Road Initiative, Western Development programme, and Yangtze River Economic Belt programme.

The project saw significant progress five months later, when President Xi Jinping made his first visit to Singapore as China’s President, and along with Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, witnessed the signing of the China-Singapore (Chongqing) Demonstration Project on Strategic Connectivity Framework Agreement. During the visit, President Xi proposed and affirmed bilateral relations as an “all-round cooperative partnership progressing with the times,” underpinning the vigour of the partnership between the governments of both countries.

Fourth Generation Leaders: Reaching New Heights

In October 2019, Singapore Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Finance Heng Swee Keat led a delegation to China and it comprised core members of Singapore’s fourth generation leadership including six full ministers. Mr Heng also hosted the Joint Council for Bilateral Cooperation meeting for the first time as Deputy Prime Minister.

Henceforth, a new chapter in the history of bilateral relations is being written by Singapore’s 4G leaders.

新中两国领导人交流历史回顾

建国元勋:破冰铺路 建立互信

返回首页


1974年底,新加坡外长拉惹勒南赴纽约参加联合国大会,碰见中国外交部长乔冠华。在交谈中,乔外长突然问起拉惹为何不派代表团访华。当时中国文化大革命尚未结束,拉惹只能说回去再考虑。

这不是句客套话。隔年3月,拉惹勒南亲率五人代表团到访北京,并且得到周恩来总理的会见。拉惹向乔外长阐明新加坡很想与中国建立友好关系的立场。但因地理环境,碍于周边国家当时的意识形态所限,不能立刻建交,以免产生误会。乔冠华对此表示理解,两国彼时尚处于冷冻状态的外交关系开始化解。

一年后,李光耀总理于1976年5月首次访华,除了夫人和女儿,随行人员还有外长拉惹勒南、财长韩瑞生、政务次长麦马德和包括日后成为总统的纳丹在内的一些高级公务员。

李总理访华时会见了毛泽东,后者已经身体欠佳,不能走路,却以身体力行向新加坡代表团表达了善意和重视。李光耀此行访问了北京、山西大寨、西安、上海、无锡、桂林、广州等地,从此开启了两国领导人30年来频密的互访。仅李光耀本人便在35年间共到访中国33次,占他所有外访的10%。

1978年11月,中国告别毛泽东时代,进入了邓小平时代。时任中国副总理邓小平率领代表团访新三天,促成了两国领导巨人的首次会面。新加坡自1965年独立后迅速发展,所采纳的社会治理与经济发展模式都令邓小平留下深刻印象,为他推动中国改革开放提供了一个实际参考,也奠定了两国经济合作蓬勃发展的基础。

1980年代,双边互设了商务贸易代表处、实现了直飞通航。1985年,前第一副总理吴庆瑞博士获中国政府委任为中国沿海经济特区经济顾问,后来又兼任旅游业顾问,为两国在1990年正式建交起了关键作用。

1992年邓小平展开历史性的南巡。在深圳他再次提到新加坡的“社会秩序良好”,重申要学习新加坡的管理模式。新中关系也随之不久后进入了另一个重要的里程碑。在李光耀三访中国亲自评估选址后,1994年2月,他与中国副总理李岚清在北京签署了苏州工业园区协议书,启动了首个政府间合作项目。

第二代领导人:巩固根基 开枝散叶

吴作栋在1990年11月接棒成为新加坡第二位总理后就意识到身负维护新中友好关系的重任,并不断通过发掘新合作项目深化双边关系。在他主政的14年里,新中关系的最大亮点是他主推的新中双边合作联合委员会和新加坡—中国自贸协定相继在2003年和2008年落实。

在新中双边合作联委会推动下达成的新中自贸协定,是首份中国与另一个亚洲国家签署的全面双边自贸协定。此外,新中政府的第二个旗舰合作项目——中新天津生态城,也在吴作栋卸下总理职务,担任国务资政时促成。令吴作栋至今印象深刻的,是2007年4月到访中国时,中国总理温家宝听到他提议建设生态城的反应。

“他马上答应,让我感到意外。...... 隔天早上,副总理吴仪就告诉我,温总理已经委任她负责这个计划。”

第三代领导人:全面深化 再攀新高

2005年10月, 现任总理李显龙上任后首次访问中国,同中国国家主席胡锦涛、总理温家宝、全国人大委员长吴邦国和全国政协主席贾庆林这四位排名最前的中共中央常委见面和会谈,这在外国领导人访华行程中并不多见。

5年后,习近平应李显龙总理邀请,首次以中国国家副主席身份来新作三天正式访问。期间他与时任国务资政吴作栋共同为象征新中两国文化交流新成果的新加坡中国文化中心举行奠基仪式,充分体现两国领导人对新中文化交流的高度重视。

而在不断加深的经贸合作下,新加坡金融管理局北京代表处于2013年正式开幕。同年,据中方统计,新加坡成为中国第一大外资来源国,当年累计存量达665亿美元。

2015年6月,总统陈庆炎应中国国家主席习近平邀对中国进行六天国事访问。在同习近平会谈时,两国元首同意积极地提升在2009年生效的双边自贸协定。习近平表示中国同样关心和支持两国探讨在西部开展第三个政府间合作项目,希望其成为“一带一路”、中国西部大开发和“长江经济带”建设示范性的重点项目。

这个项目于5个月后,在习近平第一次以中国国家主席身份访问新加坡时取得了重大进展——在李显龙和习近平的共同见证下,两国签署了《中新(重庆)战略性互联互通示范项目的框架协议》。访新期间,习近平提出并确立了两国间“与时俱进的全方位合作伙伴关系”,显示了两国政府间合作的蓬勃活力。

第四代领导人:历久弥新 更上层楼

2019年10月,新加坡第四代领导核心、副总理兼财政部长王瑞杰率领六名内阁正部长访华。王瑞杰在此行中首次以副总理身份主持新中双边合作联委会会议。

至此,历史也开启了第四代领导人与中国交流互访的新篇章。